Peach Prosciutto Arugula Sandwiches

Growing up, peaches were my favorite fruit. Not fresh peaches, mind you. The canned ones. Yeah, I was such a processed foods fan. Green beans? The fresh ones made me gag, but I loved the mushy, waxy flavor of the canned ones. Thank goodness taste buds evolve as you grow up.

Among the many reasons to love summer is the abundance of fresh peaches. I love their bright yellow-orange flesh, the sweet juice that you have to act quickly to slurp up with each bite, the combination of sweet and tart. So when I saw peaches at the produce stand, I jumped on buying some even though I knew it was a little early in the season. I was just so eager for peaches.

I wanted a creative way to use them though. I thought about melon and prosciutto salads, but I’m not a melon fan (yeah, those taste buds never evolved) so peaches seemed like a good swap. And since we were having soup that night, I thought why do salad when you can have a sandwich? Grilled, buttery sourdough, a layer of gooey mozzarella cheese, some crisp and peppery arugula, tender slices of salty prosciutto, and last but not least– those sweet and juicy peaches. Summer in a sandwich. Try it or you’ll just have to trust me on that one.

For 4 sandwiches:

  • Half a loaf of your favorite sourdough bread, cut on a bias into eight 1/2 inch thick slices
  • 4 tablespoons butter, room temperature
  • 8 oz fresh mozzarella, sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 3 oz prosciutto slices
  • 1 cup baby arugula leaves, rinsed and spun dry
  • 2 medium-sized, ripe peaches, pitted and sliced 1/4 inch thick

Preheat a griddle or skillet over medium heat. Spread 1/2 tablespoon of butter on each slice of bread. Reduce heat to medium low, then place 4 slices of bread, butter side down on the griddle. Top each slice with 2 pieces of cheese, a small handful of the arugula leaves, 1 to 2 pieces of prosciutto, and 4 slices of peach. Top with another piece of cheese and another slice of bread. Cook for 5-6 minutes or until cheese is melted and bread is golden brown. Carefully flip sandwiches over and grill on the other side until golden, another 5-6 minutes. Slice sandwiches in half and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

