Posted by: CJW | May 24, 2010

Cocoa Rubbed Flank Steak Burritos

Everyone has guilty pleasures, right? For me, they are primarily as follows: movie– Girls Just Wanna Have Fun; books, well, although I haven’t read them since I was a kid, I still admittedly have a soft spot for the Sweet Valley High series; and when it comes to food, at the risk of losing my foodie license– I love Chipotle. Yes, I know it was created by McDonald’s, and yes, I know the portion control is non-existent, but there’s an intangible quality to their burritos that I find hits the spot. Then again, maybe I have to be under some sort of duress in order to buy some as I really only ate Chipotle while in law school and when I lived in a city that didn’t have much else to offer as far as fast Mexican food is concerned.

I swear I don’t seek out Chipotle otherwise, which is why these burritos were born– I craved a Chipotle-like burrito, but I wanted to make one infinitely better and let’s face it, less intimidating in size. Armed with some flank steak that I got on sale, I started my burrito ingredients by putting together a spice rub that would make this burrito more interesting, so I blended together some steak seasoning, brown sugar, unsweetened cocoa (as a wink to mole), chili powder, dried oregano, and a pinch of cinnamon. Since it was cold outside when I made these, these were broiled instead of grilled, and admittedly, it made the house smell amazing!

My rice was cooked with a little bit of bouillon (or whatever Better than Bouillon is) then dressed with green onions, cilantro, lime zest and lime juice. Finally, my black beans were consistent with how I normally prep them for burritos: mixed with sautéed onion, bell pepper, jalapeno, garlic, a can of fire roasted tomatoes with green chiles, and a mix of dried spices and hot sauce. These burritos were delicious, thanks to the heady blend of spices on the tender flank steak and the refreshing hint of citrus in the rice. Is my foodie license safe now?

  • 1 lb flank steak
  • 1 tablespoon Montreal Steak Seasoning plus 1 teaspoon more, divided
  • 2 teaspoons light brown sugar
  • 1.5 teaspoons dried oregano, divided
  • 1/2 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 tablespoon chili powder plus 1 teaspoon more, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon plus a pinch, divided
  • canola oil
  • 1 cup white rice
  • 1 teaspoon Better than Bouillon, chicken flavor (or 1 bouillon cube)
  • 2 cups water (or if cooking on stove top, follow rice package directions)
  • 1 teaspoon grated lime zest
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 2 scallions, sliced
  • 1/2 cup cilantro leaves, chopped and divided
  • 15 oz can black beans, drained
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 2 medium cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, chopped
  • 15 oz can fire roasted tomatoes with green chiles, drained
  • hot sauce, salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups mix of shredded cheddar and Monterey jack cheeses
  • 8 10 inch wide flour tortillas
  • cooking spray

Preheat broiler or heat up your grill now that the weather is getting nicer. Combine 1 tbsp steak seasoning, brown sugar, 1 tsp oregano, cocoa powder, and 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon in a small bowl. Coat the steak evenly on both sides with the spice mixture. Brush your broiler pan or grill with oil then add the steak, cooking for 5-6 minutes per side. Remove to a plate and tent with foil until ready to slice.

Combine water, bouillon, and rice in a rice cooker or in a small, covered sauce pan on your stove top. When cooked, mix in green onion, 1/4 cup cilantro, lime zest, and lime juice. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

While rice cooks, heat 1 tablespoon canola oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and jalapeno and saute until onion is softened, about 5 minutes. Add the bell pepper and continue to saute for another 3-4 minutes. Stir in the drained black beans and fire roasted tomatoes, then mix in 1 tsp steak seasoning, 1 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp dried oregano, and pinch of cinnamon. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, then season with salt, pepper, and hot sauce to taste. Turn off heat and mix in remaining cilantro.

Now that steak has properly rested, remove foil and slice thinly on a bias into bite-sized pieces.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly spray the bottom and sides of a large baking dish with cooking spray. Microwave 4 tortillas at a time on a microwave safe plate on high for 1 minute. Assemble burritos by laying about 1/3 cup of rice mixture, followed by 1/3 cup of bean mixture, then topped with some slices of steak and a handful of cheese on tortilla. Fold in the top and bottom sides of the tortilla, then roll from left to right. Place burrito seam side down into the baking pan. Repeat with remaining tortillas. Bake for about 15 minutes or until cheese has had enough time to melt. Serve with plenty of guacamole and tortilla chips.

Responses

  1. I saw your post Cocoa Rubbed Flank Steak Burritos and I think it looks AMAZING.

    I can’t wait to try it. I own http://hotsauceplanet.com/ and sell all sorts of hot sauces, BBQ Sauces, etc. If you want to link to our hot sauces for your recipe that would be great. I would also be willing to give your readers a 15% off coupon for hot sauces if that is something that you might be interested in.

    Thanks for the great reading,

    Jason
    jason@unitebrands.com

  2. Cocoa Rubbed flank steaks caught my attention! I am intrigued…it all makes sense! I’ll be watching for flank steaks to go on sale at my market! Think this will be a hit with the kids!

  3. […] is my first delicious foray into cumin sweet potato world. Ever on a quest to vary the filling for my burritos, I decided to nix meat all together and try making a vegetarian one. I roasted some pasilla peppers […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

