Posted by: CJW | February 17, 2010

Caramel Apple Waffles

When I was growing up, breakfast was by far my least favorite meal of the day. The thought of eating something first thing in the morning made me feel nauseated, I rarely feel like eating something sweet early on in the day (perhaps an unfortunate product of my wonderfully indulgent father who’d buy me chocolate donuts and orange juice before dropping me off at kindergarten), and since I thought that eggs were gross, well, that wiped out 95% of my usual menu options.

But over the years, I’ve grown to love breakfast, especially once I was introduced to the silky, custardy beauty of a perfectly poached egg. I still rarely want anything sweet for breakfast; however, I am horribly subject to the power of suggestion.

I made these waffles for a quiet weekend breakfast after waking up and reading a Facebook status discussion between my sister-in-law and her partner about their waffle breakfast. (I’m sure the kiddies have a quick and easy way of describing conversations that take place between warring statuses and their comments, but I’m not hip to such lingo.) My sister-in-law is the current owner of a waffle iron originally owned by her grandparents, saved (but note not necessarily maintained) by my mother-in-law for years. That waffle iron is at least 60 years old if not older; in fact, it looks like it may have been an antique when originally purchased. I remember from visits with my mother-in-law that the waffle iron was often brought out as an object of curiosity, but I don’t remember ever getting the courage to try it out. Well according to her FB status that day, my sister-in-law Sharon has that courage. God bless her.

I won’t risk reigniting that discussion by commenting on how those waffles apparently turned out, but John and I both read our FB newsfeeds, flooded with posts from Sharon and Rich about waffles and suddenly, there was nothing we craved more for breakfast than waffles of our own. So I pulled out our significantly younger iron (a wedding present, and therefore a mere 7 years old, barely a blip in the Martin appliance’s existence) and looked around for an idea for a topping. A couple of firm honeycrisp apples and some leftover cream in the fridge made me think of bathing our waffles and slices of apple in a cinnamon spiked, buttery and smooth caramel sauce. The additions of a half teaspoon of nutmeg, a teaspoon of vanilla, and a pinch of cinnamon to a Bisquick waffle batter made these waffles a touch nutty and spicy in flavor, a perfect complement to the caramel sauce.

  • 1 batch of waffles made from any batter recipe you want, but make sure to add some nutmeg and cinnamon
  • 2 honeycrisp apples, peeled, cored, and sliced into 1/4 inch thick slices
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

In a medium skillet, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the apple and saute for 7-10 minutes or until the slices are slightly softened. Stir in the brown sugar, salt and cinnamon. Drizzle in the heavy cream. This will boil up a little but will soon settle down. Cook for 3-4 more minutes or until caramel has thickened. Spoon the caramel apple topping over waffles.

Leave a Reply

Categories

