Posted by: CJW | November 20, 2009

Tuna, Avocado, Radishes

I was feeling kind of awkward about being 2 months behind on my blog, but I’m starting to like remembering and writing about meals that invoke late summer/early fall for me as we continue to slosh through rain and strong winds here in the Northwest. Besides, this may come in handy as I’ll still have plenty of material to blog about through the winter when I don’t have my CSA share to inspire me.

It’s no secret how much I love avocado. I love how the light, jade green color instantly makes any dish pretty; I love its smooth, creamy texture; and as is the case with most food fats, I love its light, buttery flavor. The idea for this dish came from noticing how avocado plays a prominent role in both sushi and in Latin dishes and so I wanted to try making my own fusion dish, using avocado as the bridge.

I took ahi tuna steaks and seasoned them with a mix of chili powder and Asian five spice powder and seared them in a hot cast iron skillet. The idea was to sandwich slices of avocado between slices of tuna so you get a bit of both with every bite. I added radishes for a contrast in color and to add a crisp texture, but also because I thought that this could be an additional nod to Latin cuisines since radishes are frequently available at any good taco truck/bar. Finally, to add some acid and to keep that avocado green, I drizzled the tuna and avocado with a mix of soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, lime juice and sesame oil. I liked the mix of chili and spice flavors, but I think this would have been better if I hadn’t overcooked the fish. I like a good, raw center, particularly when it comes to ahi tuna. So I’ve attempted to adjust the time for cooking in my notes below.

  • 2 4oz tuna steaks
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp Asian five spice powder
  • 1 tsp Montreal steak seasoning
  • 1 avocado, sliced thinly
  • 1 tbsp Tamari soy sauce
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp rice wine vinegar
  • juice of half a lime
  • 3-4 radishes, sliced into thin rounds
  • chives, chopped

Bring your tuna steaks up to room temperature, making sure to wrap them in paper towels to dry them off. Heat a cast iron skillet or grill pan over medium high heat. Mix the steak seasoning, chili powder and five spice powder together then sprinkle liberally over both sides of the tuna steaks. Add a little oil to the pan, enough to lightly coat the bottom. Cook the tuna steaks for 2 minutes on each side to just sear them and leave a good pink center. If you’re not so into the raw fish, you can cook them longer for about 3-4 minutes on each side depending on the thickness of the cut.

Let the tuna steaks rest off heat for a few minutes then slice into 1/2 inch thick slices. Sandwich slices of avocado between the tuna pieces. Mix together the soy sauce, lime juice, rice vinegar, and sesame oil then drizzle over the tuna and avocado. Top with radish slices and a sprinkle of chives. I bet this would actually be even better on a bed of salad greens, using the sauce as a dressing!

CSA Count: 2 (although the number goes up for the whole meal as I served this with the pattypans)

Radishes, chives

Responses

  1. Christina – this looks delicious! I might try it. I love reading your blog, BTW.

    Hope you are well – would love to see you soon.
    -MV

    • Thanks, Meg! It’d be good to see you soon too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

